Home > Uncategorized > Christmas ’07

Christmas ’07

I don’t really celebrate Christmas like most people.  I’m not big on the whole gift thing, I’m not big on the whole party/feast thing.  I just like to relax.  Mind you, I’m no grinch.  I try not to ruin it for the kids with my lack of enthusiasm.  So you couple my overall indifference with the kids overall impatience, and you have us opening gifts early.

It started last year.  I had gotten done my shopping (the last to do so, as always) early for once (as in a week before Christmas as opposed to the day before Christmas eve.  Lisa was practically vibrating with excitement, and Karen was getting tired of having to keep her away from the gifts.  Em didn’t do much back then.  We decided to open early, which turned out to be a good thing, as Lisa ended up in the hostpital for four days, getting out the day before Christmas eve.  Hectic times before Christmas aside, our Christmas day was the most relaxed any of us had ever had.  We made the decision then to just open the weekend after we finished buying every year thereafter.

Well, it’s been a year, and I got done shopping this week, so we opened today.  Now everyone’s relaxed.

I like the way we do Christmas :)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment