Home > general > A Message from Paradise

A Message from Paradise

The first poem found in my grandmother’s papers:

A Message from Paradise

What mean you by this weeping
To break my very heart?
We both are in God’s keeping
And therefore cannot part.

You there – I here – though severed
We still at heart are one;
I only just in sunshine,
The shadows scarcely gone.

What if the clouds surround you,
You can the brightness see;
‘Tis only “just a little way”
That leads from you to me.

I was so very weary,
Surely you cannot mourn
That I a little sooner
Should lay my burden down.

Then weep not, weep not, darling, –
God wipes away all tears;
‘Tis only “just a little while”
Though you may call it years.

Adelaide Proctor

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

